The Coolest Thing I Saw On The Internet This Week

Darien Library’s Kid Lib Camp was already REALLY COOL, and then they hosted a Guerrilla Storytime. This is the first Guerrilla Storytime since our ALA debut, and I can’t even tell you how exciting and gratifying it is to see people run with the idea. I can’t wait to hear more from the participants!

This week, I am putting together all of the fall programming. I haven’t done a Pre-K storytime, from scratch, in almost a year and I was feeling pretty out of the groove. I was definitely having a bit of a WHAT AM I GOING TO DO?! freakout. What saved me? Katie (@katietweetsya) has like, this insane list of themes with every book and song she did with each one, and how it went. If you’re new to storytime, returning to a different age group, or just kind of burnt out on the creative side and need a super-easy-to-navigate boost, Katie’s website is the shit. People don’t say that anymore, like, at all, do they? What do they say now? (I also spent quite a bit of time, as per usual, at So Tomorrow and Mel’s Desk this week. It can never be said enough, what would any of use do without Annie + Melissa?)

I just discovered a great new Youth Services blog, Librerin (She does not appear to be on Twitter?!). All of her stuff is very cool, but in terms of Storytime, I’m in love with how she writes this Garden-themed post. Rather than writing to a librarian audience, she’s writing to her storytime parents. She explains in really smart, accessible terms why she chose each book or activity, and how she used it. It would be so easy for a parent who missed storytime to pick up the books and incorporate these tips into an at-home storytime. Plus she incorporates an early literacy skill in every week, AND she lists the shelf tag for each book she talks about, so parents can check them out. Seriously, you guys, it’s so cool. 

This week I got an Awesome Tip for StoryMobs, which are flipping storytime flashmobs, which, YES. 

In honor of an underwhelming new Doctor reveal, I give you, Bunny Who:

Image

Posted on August 7, 2013, in Storytime Badassery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I really appreciate your kind comments, and what you’re doing here with Storytime Underground in general. I am relatively new to librarianship, so I am endlessly grateful for the awesome resource-sharing community we youth librarians have!

Leave a Reply

