Hack My Storytime: Sick Theme for Preschoolers

Ok folks, another storytime for you to hack. The theme is perfect for this time of year when it seems like everyone is sick!

There are many ways to play.

Read over the storytime outline below and consider your options.

1) Have ideas to improve it, but don’t want to re-write the whole outline? Leave your ideas in the comments.

2) Want to re-vamp the whole thing with your own personal spin? Great! Send an email to storytimeunderground at gmail with your post-hacking outline. If you choose this route explain WHY you made the changes you did.

3) You don’t have anything to add to this outline but would like a storytime outline of your own to be hacked. Email your outline to us!

And now, without further ado, I give you the “Sick” Storytime from Lindsay. She did this storytime in the first few months of her storytiming career for an audience of 3-5 year olds.

Clean up toys

The More We Get Together with signs, including a storytime verse:

It’s time to hear a story, a story, a story.

It’s time to hear a story. I’ll read it to you.

So sit on my carpet, get ready to listen.

It’s time to hear a story. I’ll read it to you.

Goldie Locks Has Chicken Pox by Erin Dealey

I’m Going to Sneeze: to the tune of “The Farmer in the Dell”
I think I’m going to sneeze (ah-choo)
I think I’m going to sneeze (ah-choo)
If you sneeze, use a tissue please!
Ah-choo, ah-choo, ah-choo!

Got a Boo Boo: to the tune of “Clementine”
got a boo boo
got a boo boo
got a boo boo on my __________ (insert body part)
got a boo boo
need a bandaid
kiss it better for me!

Mother Mother I Feel Sick by Remy Charlip

Doctor in the Clinic with flannel: to the tune of ”The Farmer in the Dell”

The doctor in the clinic.
The doctor in the clinic.
Hi-ho the derry-o,
The doctor in the clinic.

The doctor takes a nurse…
The nurse takes a patient…
The patient gets help…
The patient gets better…

The Lady with the Alligator Purse by Nadine Bernard Westcott

 Bubbles to a different recorded song every week

 Get well cards from paper, stickers, marker, glue and pre-cut phrases “Get Well Soon”

So, what would you do differently?

About Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

Posted on December 17, 2013, in Hack My Storytime. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Very nice! I might sub an action rhyme for one of the songs to get the wiggles out a bit? I’ve used “Miss Polly had a Dolly”. I also like Yolen’s How Do Dinosaurs Get Well Soon? and Wilson’s Bear Feels Sick. As an early literacy reminder for the parents, you could say (after the “Got a Boo boo” song) that singing songs with new words, like body parts, helps children to better be able to tell you how they’re feeling or what hurts! Here’s the full plan I did fort is theme: http://missmaryliberry.wordpress.com/2009/12/11/the-best-way-to-combat-illness-a-storytime/

  2. One of the activities I did at a Goldie Locks Has Chicken Pox story time was to give each kid a sheet of red dot stickers (i.e. the color coding labels you get at office supply stores) and have them walk around and “give” everyone else chicken pox (including the grown-ups!). There was a lot of giggling and fun as they covered each other with stickers. Then I read all the “sick” kids Chicken Soup with Rice so they would feel better.

    Dana Sheridan
    Education & Outreach Coordinator
    Cotsen Children’s Library
    Princeton University Library
    danas@princeton.edu
    (609) 258-2697

  3. One craft I’ve done is to use a bandaid, tissue and markers and make a butterfly. Fold up the tissue in the middle, put the bandaid over it and draw on the antennae – it’s easy but the kids can use markers to decorate the tissue and add to the picture and they loved, LOVED, to play with band aids!

  4. I have always wanted to do this topic.

    Thanks so much, now I have some rhymes to fit the theme. Considered your theme hacked!

    Here are some other titles that might work:
    Chicken Soup with Rice by Maurice Sendak
    My Cold Went on Vacation by Molly Rausch and Nora Krug
    Llama Llama Home with Mama by Anna Dewdny.

    By the way, what is the Melody to your “It’s Time to Hear a Story” song?

    I sometimes will use: Ring around the roses, a pocket full of posies, ashes, ashes,
    We all SIT DOWN!

Leave a Reply

