Photo Diary: Books you LOVE for storytime.

February is a month when lots of folks talk about what they love, so what better time to share books that you LOVE to use in storytime? And not only do you get to see the books your fellow guerrillas love, you can use this post as a sort of storytime bests list.

From Jennifer Wharton:

Jan Thomas is my go to author when groups show up unexpectedly, when I have to sub for someone else's storytime, and when I have to do storytime for kids from the special education school, with a really wide range of cognitive development.

Jan Thomas is my go to author when groups show up unexpectedly, when I have to sub for someone else’s storytime, and when I have to do storytime for kids from the special education school, with a really wide range of cognitive development.

From Renee Grassi:

One of my favs!

One of my favs!

From Shelley Holley:

A wonderful quirky story of friendship.  I like to use this book for friendship and cat storytimes.

A wonderful quirky story of friendship. I like to use this book for friendship and cat storytimes.

My go to book for scout groups or grade school classes that drop in to the library.

My go to book for scout groups or grade school classes that drop in to the library.

From Anne Clark:

My favorite storytime book (at the moment. For winter.).

My favorite storytime book (at the moment. For winter.).

From Alex Byrne:

A great book I like to share with littles.

A great book I like to share with littles.

About Amy Koester

I'm a youth services librarian with a penchant for exciting ideas and engaging programs. It's a sure bet that if you talk to me about STEAM, whimsy, and trying new things, we'll be best friends forever.

Posted on February 17, 2014, in Photo Diary. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I did not get my act together to send in a photo, but I LOVE Bark George by Jules Feiffer – it’s funny and works well for a wide range of ages. It’s definitely one of my go-tos when I need a surefire hit. 😉

  2. A new favorite of mine is The Big Snow by Jonathan Bean!

  3. I’m all about anything Pete the Cat. I turn on the song, flip the pages, and we all groove out to one of the amazing books which always have a positive message.

  4. I totally meant to send in photos of my beat up books… but life got real and the best laid plans..

    My go-to for the little ones (toddler and below) is “Squeak, Rumble, Whomp! Whomp! Whomp!” by Wynton Marsalis (Illus. by Paul Rogers)

    My go-to for the older ones (preschool and up) is “I Saw an Ant on the Railroad Track” by Joshua Prince (Illus. by Macky Pamintuan)

    I’m also known to bust out “Fox in Socks” with just about any group. The silliness of the text is always a crowd-pleaser. Especially if you straight-faced tell the audience that you will finish the book without making a single mistake (like that ever happens).

Leave a Reply

