Ask a Storytime Ninja: Meet the May Ninjas

Introducing the featured ninjas for May!

Do you have a question for these four fabulous librarians? Submit your question here.

 

abbyjohnson (2)

Abby Johnson is the Children’s Services Manager at the New Albany-Floyd County Public Library in Southern Indiana. She has worked as a youth librarian since 2007. She’s done storytimes for a variety of ages, and currently plans and implements baby storytime and preschool science programs. She supervises a staff of five – three full-time and two part-time librarians – who offer storytimes for toddlers, preschoolers, beginning readers, and preschool classes. You can find her on the web at http://www.abbythelibrarian.com or on Twitter @abbylibrarian.

 

photo(7)

Jennie Rothschild recently became the branch manager of a small branch in Arlington, VA, just across the river from Washington, DC. Before that she was a youth services librarian for 8 years where she did programs for newborns through high school. She has worked as part of a team and as a team of 1, she has worked at big branches and small, under-served communities and wealthy ones. She finds a spreadsheet to be her most useful storytime planning tool.

Where to find her:
Blogs:
Biblio File http://www.jenrothschild.com (reviews and thoughts)
YA Reading List http://www.yareadinglist.com (a themed reading list for every day of 2013)
Library Noise http://www.librarynoise.com (the no-longer-updated programming blog)
Twitter: @kidsilkhaze

 

Meagan with Hermit Crab, Abraham Sandwich

Meagan with Hermit Crab, Abraham Sandwich

Meagan Schiebel:I am a new to the field children’s librarian working as the head of the children’s department in Connecticut. I am very new to this position (as in this is my first week) and it is my first time in a manager position! I am definitely still getting used to being the head of a team but luckily I am starting small with just 3 others in my department, all part-time. My expertise is early literacy. Toddlers are probably my favorite age group for storytime but I have also done pre-school, all ages, and am just starting to do baby storytimes.
Blog: http://missmegsstorytime.com and twitter: @theemegnificent

 

Danielle Ziegler: My name is Danielle and I’ve been lucky to be working in a library for the past four years, after receiving my MLS. My library is located in a Midwestern college town of 50,000 (including students), where I’m fortunate enough to work on a team of six awesome youth librarians and youth assistants (like me!), including my supervisor. I feel like I do a bit of everything, from baby storytimes to outreach to tween programming, but perhaps my expertise lies in non-storytime programming and reader’s advisory. Feel free to check me out on Twitter at https://twitter.com/LibrarianDani

 

Thank you, Ninjas and let’s put them to work!

About Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

Posted on April 29, 2014, in Ask a Storytime Ninja. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

Leave a Reply

